2005 Press Releases

Momentum Growing on Capitol Hill to Suspend Bush Plan Allowing Foreign Control of U.S. Airlines Monday, December 19, 2005

Monday, December 19, 2005

Congress Must Pass Bipartisan Legislation Suspending Bush Plan to Permit Foreign Control of U.S. Airlines

Thursday, December 15, 2005

Transportation Labor: Amtrak Board Must Go

Tuesday, November 15, 2005

Transportation Labor Reaction to Dismissal of Amtrak CEO David Gunn

Wednesday, November 9, 2005

Transportation Labor Urges Administration to Suspend Proposal to Expand Foreign Control of U.S. Airlines

Tuesday, November 8, 2005

93 Senators Unite Behind Amtrak

Thursday, November 3, 2005

Weak Security Training for Rail Workers is a Disgrace, Transportation Labor Tells Senate Committee

Thursday, October 20, 2005

Transportation Labor Urges Senate to Boost Transit Funding

Friday, October 14, 2005

Transportation Labor: Transit Security is Not “Outstanding”

Thursday, September 22, 2005

Transportation Unions Demand Crackdown on Dangerous “Curb-Side,” Inter-City Bus Companies

Thursday, September 8, 2005

Transportation Unions Tell FAA Administrator: Stop Playing Politics with Collective Bargaining

Thursday, September 8, 2005

The FAA Administrator Must Stop National Media Assault on Workers

Wednesday, July 20, 2005

Senate Reaction to London Bombings: $50 Million Cut in Transit Security

Friday, July 15, 2005

AFL-CIO President John Sweeney Statement on FAA Imposing Contract Terms on Air Traffic Controllers

Wednesday, July 13, 2005

Transportation Labor Endorses House Transit and Rail Security Bill

Wednesday, July 13, 2005

House Rejects Calls to Break-up, Bankrupt Amtrak

Thursday, June 30, 2005

Transportation Labor Condemns House Subcommittee Vote on Amtrak

Thursday, June 16, 2005

Audit Shows FAA “Asleep at the Switch” As Airlines Outsource Aircraft Repairs

Wednesday, June 8, 2005

Giant Railroads Paint Rosy — and Misleading — Picture of Safety Record

Wednesday, May 25, 2005

Transportation Labor Pledges Full Support for Machinists Union Members at United Airlines

Friday, May 20, 2005

Senators Move to End Administration “Foot-Dragging” on Foreign Aircraft Repair Station Security

Thursday, May 19, 2005

Momentum Growing Against Bush Plan to Kill Amtrak

Wednesday, April 27, 2005

Transportation Labor Calls for Resignation of Amtrak Board of Directors

Friday, April 22, 2005

Transportation Labor Condemns Amtrak Board Proposal to Decimate Amtrak

Thursday, April 21, 2005

FAA Once Again Delays Improving Oversight of Aircraft Repair

Monday, March 28, 2005

Transportation Labor Lauds House Passage of Highway/Transit Jobs Bill

Thursday, March 10, 2005

Wal-Mart-Led Coalition Loses Push for 16 Hour Day for Truck Drivers

Tuesday, March 8, 2005

Transportation Unions Vow Strong Fight for Workers In Time of Economic Crisis and Security Threats

Sunday, February 27, 2005

Government “Abdicating its Responsibility” in Improving Transportation Security

Sunday, February 27, 2005

AFL-CIO Transportation Labor Group Re-Elects Officers

Sunday, February 27, 2005

Federal Rail Safety Regulators “Asleep at the Switch,” Transportation Labor Leaders Say

Sunday, February 27, 2005

Condemn White House Plan to Kill Amtrak

Monday, February 14, 2005

Transportation Labor Honors Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Monday, January 17, 2005

Unions Tell National Mediation Board: Reject Railroads’ Plan to Silence Workers

Tuesday, January 11, 2005